Blogging For Income

A novice blogger and his attempt at generating some income from blogging

Building This Site: Day 1 – Choosing A Blog Space And Setting Up

Posted by JC on October 13, 2006

Welcome to Day 1 of “Blogging For Income”. The very first day I had to decide and do a couple of things including:

  1. Who will host my blog (Blogger, WordPress, TypePad)?
  2. What will the name of my blog be?
  3. Getting familiar with the blogging publishing tools (in this case, WordPress)
  4. Setting up my profile and user options
  5. Playing around with the features available to me
  6. Writing an “About” page
  7. Typing out the very first post!

One of the main things I had to decide was to figure out where my blog will be. I have currently have a Blogger (Blogspot) blog and I follow quite a few other blogs out there. From what I have seen, there has been a lot of negativity when it comes to Blogger. Also, there were several blogs that moved from other blog spaces to WordPress.

Flexibility and functionality seems to be the main reason why more and more people are moving their blogs to WordPress. As of this writing, I know that Blogger is in Beta testing of a New Blogger that promises more features.

I do admit that Blogger was fairly easy to use, there are some problems. First of all, there were many times that Blogger would be down or we’d be given notice that Blogger would be down for a specified amount of time. This occurred quite frequently.

Another thing about Blogger was that it made it rather difficult to post up pictures. You had to use other software and what should have been a 1-step process became a 15-step process. Also, Blogger is now owned by Google. This will probably mean that you will be limited with the types of ads you can display or you will be limited to what you can display on your blog.

Finally, I found Blogger to be very limiting in the things you could do. There were several times I wanted to change the way my blog looked or things I wanted to do with my posts (like place tags on them or categorize them), but there was no easy way of doing this.

And so, I decided to go with WordPress. And since this is the first time I am using WordPress, I am truly a novice at this. As I learn more things, I will post them up.

After signing up, I spent maybe an hour or so reviewing and updating my profile and checking out the features of WordPress. I then typed up an “About” page and posted it up. Finally, I deleted initial entry that WordPress puts on your site and I began this post!

From what I’ve done so far, here’s what I like about WordPress:

  • It has a nice slick interface that has drag and drop features – very cool!
  • I like the fact that I can insert images while editing this post – this was something I could not do in Blogger
  • There is a wealth of options – way more than Blogger
  • I love the fact there is an Import and Export feature – this means I can take an existing blog (say from Blogger) and import it into WordPress – very handy!
  • While signing up, WordPress gave me the option of making my blog more visible – with my Blogger blog, I had to manually submit sites to various blog communities

Once I publish this post, I won’t do anything else. On Day 2, I will try to categorize and add tags to this post, add more links on the sidebars and I will add a site counter to this blog.

One Response to “Building This Site: Day 1 – Choosing A Blog Space And Setting Up”

  1. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

 
