Blogging For Income

A novice blogger and his attempt at generating some income from blogging

Building This Site: Day 3 – Modifying Post Counts and Adding Links

Posted by JC on October 27, 2006

Welcome to Day 3 of “Blogging For Income”. The last couple of days I put up some posts mainly for content for this site and I was away for the better part of the week for vacation.

At this point, there isn’t really much else for me to do but to make a few adjustments. From here on in, the main purpose for everything I do with this site will be simply to drive traffic.

But before we do that, I just want to make some minor adjustments to how this site looks. First, I will want to include the number of posts in each of the categories on the left sidebar.

Modifying Post Count

To display the post count of each category, I first went to “Presentation”, then to “Sidebar Widgets”.

CatWid

Next, I clicked on the “Configure” icon just to the right of the widget and I checked “Show Post Counts” on the window that appeared.

CatConf

I also wish to show the post counts in my archives section, so I clicked on the Configure icon in the Archives widget and checked “Show post counts”

ArcConf

With that done, I clicked on Save Changes and now the site will display the number of posts in each category and the number of posts for each month.

PostCount

Adding Links

To complete the look of this site, I’ll add links to a few sites (related to this site) in my Blogroll. My Blogroll is simply a listing of sites that I visit frequently and may be of interest to readers out there.

To add links, I went to “Blogroll”, then I clicked on “Add Link”.

BlogrollAdd

Then I simply added several sites by providing the name of the site, the URL, and a brief description of the site. There are other advanced options (“Link Relationship (XFN)” and “Advanced”), but for my purposes, I’ll leave them alone for now.

And that’s it!

For the next little while, I will be mainly creating content for this site. If I do anything outside of creating content (such as doing something to increase traffic to the site, improve search engine visibility, etc), I will post it up under the “Building This Site” series.

Leave a Reply

 
